Writebrainit

March 4, 2009

Creativity

Filed under: writers group — writebrainit @ 10:08 am
Tags:

Well the 4th Annual Omaha Film Festival is over this year. I know the people who put it on hard work hard to do it, and while their is always this joy and excitement behind it – there is that ‘I will be glad when this week is over’ feeling as well. Not for me, I am there absolutely as much as I can and I love the opportunity it offers me. I am thankful for the trust they put in my role with the festival – from the first year, I have been one of the people they chose to drive some of the guest speakers, directors and more to transport them around town. This kind of opportunity does not present itself often, but I won’t really go into detail there.

The first year I was mainly responsible for a man who was more than a little pompous to put it politely and we didn’t start off on the best foot since he wanted to be their 1/2 hour early and I took him to the wrong building (who knew that Creighton has four buildings with the name Lied starting them off – and it was a screenwriting presentation, so why would I not assume it was at the Lied Performing Arts Center). Anyhow, part of the reason they had given me this assignment was to be able to sit in on his presentation and learn. I was so frustrated with the attitude this man had towards me that, I couldn’t make myself go into the room. I also think I feared he would have me running more errands that weren’t really in my duties – I did really get some fun stories from this guy and the things he assumed.

I did sit in on the seminar the second day when the two presenters sat on a panel and answered questions regarding screenwriting. When I was driving the speaker who had caused me grief to the airport – he was the most friendly he had been the whole weekend and commented that he had not seen me in any of the seminars. Now I wanted to say the real reason he had not, but replied that I was a lot busier than I had realized I was going to be. He spent the whole time on the way to the airport asking about me – now true it was only about 15 minutes, but it was nice. He even suggested that I contact him if I ever completed a screenplay for his input. He also said he hoped to be invited back to the Festival sometime in the future. Now really this is one of those ‘time and place’ opportunities that happen so seldomly.

I get a real secondary gain (probably third, fourth and fifth gains as well) from working at the festival. It continues to stir my creative juices – it excites me for what I write and motives me to do more and do more with it. I am also always pleasently surprised by the people I meet and get to spend time with. It’s funny how artists attract artists. I am constantly amazed with the people I meet and am drawn to – especially when I find out they themselves are artists. I met this great couple this weekend who were so helpful and a couple of the more reliable volunteers – I believe they had been there the last two years as well and we had met, but the opportunity to get to know them better did not present itself and it did this weekend. It wasn’t until the closing party that I learned they are also writers – I was so excited to learn this and told them about the writing group I belong to and encouraged them to come.

Time to write – and be excited for next year’s Omaha Film Festival – I am sure it will be special since it will mark their 5th year.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

