Writebrainit

February 17, 2009

Getting used to REJECTION?

Filed under: Uncategorized — writebrainit @ 1:09 am

I am not sure I will ever get used to it. Recently I submitted a children’s book of mine to a company that was having a query-free holiday – I think I may have already shared this. Well this weekend was the deadline of when they were going to be letting people know if they were chosen or not. I have to admit that even though they were blown out of the water by submissions (I think it was something like 3500 in a 2 month period), I still had hope. I mean, I have had this story for a long time, it’s gotten many kudos from the people who read it and I had whittled it down finally to a reasonable children’s picture book size. I was set to be chosen.

February 15th came and went – no request for contact or copies of a contract in my email. I kept telling myself I was okay with this. I felt peace when I learned they had received about 100 children’s manuscripts and had only chosen 2. Throughout this entire submission and wait process, I thought – even if I don’t get picked, I finally have a re-write that I think with have a chance with different companies. Yet, I think it’s a bit of what kept me back from doing a lot of writing this weekend. Not a good excuse, but an excuse nonetheless – now that is out – it’s time to quit whining and get to work.

3 Comments »

  1. There’s no getting used to it. Writers often joke about the ‘collection’ of rejection slips, and all that, but you never get used to the cold. And I don’t care how much they assure you that ‘the decision was -so- hard to make with -so- many good manuscripts,’ it still sucks. Today I sent out approximately my 45th manuscript to a book competition in the last 18 months. I have been shortlisted about five times in that time, and won a poetry contest last year, but I still feel it is a lottery, and I have -no- idea what a lot of these publishers want, except that they seem to want an MFA grad and not me … So, you didn’t write a lot this weekend. It’s okay, you’re not a cowboy and you don’t have to get right back on the horse. But ‘getting set’ to be chosen? That’s tricky, it’s kind of like asking for it. Still, it’s hard to be cool when you know what you want, and you know your work is good!

    I just found this blog and thought I would add my thoughts. Ted Gilley

    Comment by Ted Gilley — February 19, 2009 @ 7:19 pm | Reply

    • Those are good points, and I agree – you never really do get used to rejection. I recently learned of conference which is occuring in March and one of the things they are doing is a rejection notice burning. I had mixed feelings about that – on the one hand it is a fun way to let go, but on the other, the rejection letters are a form of acknowlegement for me (good or bad). Thanks for commenting on my blog. I will be checking yours out as well.

      Comment by writebrainit — February 20, 2009 @ 12:40 pm | Reply

  2. Just to add a postscript to what I wrote above: I got another couple of rejection notices this past week, but then last night I got a call from someone at Middlebury College saying I was among the 12 finalists for the Bakeless Literary Prize (they publish a short story collection once a year) whose manuscripts would be sent to the final judge. Naturally, I was high as a kite for about two hours, then I came down. This was hardly a rejection, more like an affirmation. But of course it means a really big rejection could be coming! I would like to get used to this aspect of the writing life: that while it seems to be all about me, in fact it is not all about me. The only thing to do is turn back to the work.

    Comment by Ted Gilley — February 25, 2009 @ 8:13 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

