Writebrainit

January 19, 2009

Prioritizing, Goals and Resolutions

Filed under: Uncategorized — writebrainit @ 10:47 pm

It’s been a nice long weekend – thank goodness I have a job, but boy do I love these long weekends, especially when they are so full. I have niece getting married this upcoming weekend and it seems like the wedding schedule is full even for her uncle.

This weekend was spent celebrating life with friends and family – in many different ways – seeing old friends, listening to music and celebrating change in other. I did some of what I expected to do while I was off – but it always seems at the end of these weekends, I am left thinking, ‘just one more day.’ And I plan what I would do with that one more day. I accomplished more than what I had hoped this weekend, but I wonder how much I could have accomplished if I had been more focused.

Not being a list person makes me very happy; however, I am beginning to wonder how much more accomplished I would be with a schedule or a list for my extended weekend. I might make that a goal the next time I have one (which is the weekend of President’s day.)

I did have one specific goal this weekend though – to finally get the short story I wrote awhile ago transferred to the computer – I have it about half done but didn’t like the direction the story was going – so I stopped and left it alone. Now I need to get it transcribed so I can see what I am going to do with it. I have slept much more than I normally would on a weekend (one day I had a several hour nap for taking an allergy pill that I thought did not affect me by making me more drowsy – 4 hours later I realized I was wrong.)

I think it was when I was in one of those sleep funks, or it was while I was doing some cleaning that I feared it had been awhile since I had been inspired to write a story – while I am not regimented enough to sit and write stories for a certain amount of time a day – that is always a goal. And I was wondering – what if I don’t have anything else to write about, which never seems to happen. For a second I was scared and then I remembered all the stories I have thought of but not finished – any time I have an idea for a story – and play it out in my head – I try to write a synopsis of sorts so I can have it there when I get around to it. I was relieved when I remembered the many options I have to be working on.

I am not a big believer in making New Year’s resolutions, but I do set simple goals. I guess I live in constant denial of the whole resolution, don’t I? Anyways, one of my goals this year is to get a page written every day – it can be my blog, it can be on a story or something new – just a minimum of one a day. I have tried to set it up in the past that I am not allowed to play on the computer until I have that page written and I believe that will be the focus I make for the upcoming year. In the big picture that is the simple way of looking at completing a novel in a year – realistically even if I only meet 1/3 of that goal – that 120 pages more than I have written in a year in the past.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

