Writebrainit

October 9, 2008

LIFE

Filed under: Uncategorized — writebrainit @ 12:49 am
Tags:

LIfe has gotten a little busy for me lately. It seems that training a new guy at work, doing my regular job and working the part time job have overtaken my schedule. The good news is that I have finally caught up with reviewing the stuff my writing peer has given to me, so I am on track there. Yea! me. But the bad news is that I haven’t taken much time to do any writing myself. I have been using my tape recorder when I am on the road to take nots, write things that are popping in my head so I can review them later.

I am excited for this weekend though – I am going on a writer’s retreat with several people from my writer’s group. I expect this weekend to be a little different than last year – last year, there was a bit of teaching and some different writing activities – this year, it is more of a focus on writing which I am excited about. I have a short story that I want to finish and then want to get some chapters written on my tree fort story. I was also thinking that it would be nice to actually get a outline for that story. However, I am often surprised with myself that the story that I have written an outline for – I haven’t taken much time to get things going on taht further than what I already have.

One of the people in my writing group recently got a two book contract – even thought I admit a little envy – I am really excited for her. When I was thinking about it, it was kinda a no brainer – I have to finish one of the novels to get them published, so I am focused (now if I could only find the time – but I will). These last two weeks have just been a little overwhelming with my schedule – next week looks to be a lot better – in fact, the next two weeks are only 4 day weeks for me, so I can’ hardly wait.

With the part-time job – it has been interesting for me. I had expected to be getting all sorts of ideas for stories and the funny thing, I am so busy that I am not really thinking of stories. I am seeing people who are interesting and from all different levels of life – but no story has popped out yet. It will, I’m not worried. I am one of the people who tends to see stories everywhere and in everyone.

I have been thinking of one of my shorts lately (submitted to the Writer’s Digest Writing Contest – and didn’t win – I want to re-work the ending.). My writing prompt for this week – pick a character that you have killed off in one of your stories – how could you bring him/her back? I was thinking about this because one of the people in my group is upset I killed off a character and keeps wanting me to bring him back – lol, I actually think I can (and might, just for her).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

